Mini Review: Joker (2019) (Oscars ’20 series, #1)

Hey everybody!

Here it is, my first review for my Oscars 2020 series!

And it’s a tricky one.. I feel like no matter what I say about this film, somebody’s not going to like it so here we go.

It really wasn’t as bad as some people said it would be, it also wasn’t the best film I’ve ever seen. I thought Joaquin Phoenix did a brilliant job, although I haven’t seen many other films of his. And I adored the way Joker was shot. If you’ve seen the film, I’m sure you can agree with me on this at least. I’m a sucker for such cinematography.

I just liked this scene a lot

But what bothered me was that this movie didn’t really say much in the first half? Like.. what was memorable about it? The best parts of this film took place in the last 45 minutes or so, in my opinion.

Another thing that I’m not really a fan of, personally, is having an unreliable narrator like this. I knew going into this, this could certainly be a possibility, and if it’s done well, I don’t mind it at all but the way they made use of it in Joker was a bit redundant. Just to say “hey, the joker is unreliable and we tricked you!”, so like I said, unnecessary. It didn’t add anything to the film or the story.

All in all, I would still say I’d recommend Joker. It’s beautifully executed, even if the storyline isn’t everything it could’ve been.


Letterboxd rating: 3.5 out of 5

Have you seen it? What did you think? Do you agree/disagree with me? Let’s talk!


One thought on “Mini Review: Joker (2019) (Oscars ’20 series, #1)

Leave a comment